The First Computing Social Responsibility Workshop-NLP Approaches to Corporate Social Responsibilities

Key Information

CSR-NLP I 2022 is a half-day workshop that aims to provide a venue for computational linguistic research and NLP methods on Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) indexing/prediction/modelling. It bridges data resources, language theories, and NLP technologies on CSR and facilitates the detection of corporate images for analysing crucial financial issues of a wide interest, such as stock returns, equity cost, capital expenditure, and so on.

Location: co-located with LREC-2022

Country: France

City: Palais du Pharo, Marseille

Workshop Date: 25 June 2022 (UTC+2)

Contact: Mingyu Wan, Bo Peng, Emmanuele Chersoni, Cindy Sing Bik Ngai

Contact email: mingyu.wan@polyu.edu.hk

Important Dates (UTC+2)

  • Submission deadline (Extended): April 24, 2022
  • Notification of acceptance: May 6, 2022
  • Camera-ready version due: May 20, 2022
  • Workshop proceedings due: May 31, 2022
  • Workshop date: June 25, 2022

Funding source: The workshop is substantially supported by the funding for Projects of Strategic Importance of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Project Code: ZE2J, Project title: Artificial Intelligence and Applications of Natural language processing in Business) and sponsored by the Research Centre for Professional Communication in English (RCPCE)

Schedule of the workshop:

Time (UTC+2) Event  
14:00-15:00 Rountable discussion: PC members + 1/2 CSR/ESG Experts  
15:05-15:30 20 mins oral presentation (paper #3) + 5 mins QA  
15:35-16:00 20 mins oral presentation (paper #4) + 5 mins QA Best paper
16:00-16:30 Coffee break  
16:35-17:00 20 mins oral presentation (paper #7) + 5 mins QA  
17:05-17:30 20 mins oral presentation (paper #8) + 5 mins QA  
17:35-18:00 20 mins oral presentation (paper #9) + 5 mins QA  
18:05-18:15 5 mins oral presentation (paper #5) + 5 mins QA  
18:20-18:30 5 mins oral presentation (paper #6) + 5 mins QA  
18:35-18:45 5 mins oral presentation (paper #10) + 5 mins QA  
18:50-19:00 Summary of the workshop  

Best paper award (USD200):

Paper Title:

Tracking Changes in ESG Representation: Initial Investigations in UK Annual Reports


Matthew Purver, Matej Martinc, RisteIchev, Igor Lončarski, Katarina Sitar Šuštar, Aljoša Valentinčič and Senja Pollak


The Proceedings will include both oral and poster papers, in the same format.

There is no difference in quality between oral and poster presentations. Only the appropriateness of the type of communication (more or less interactive) to the content of the paper will be considered. All LREC 2022 workshops will have their proceedings published on the ACL Anthology.

Invited Panelist

WONG May Kay

Head of Communications and Corporate Sustainability, Heng Seng Bank HONG KONG

Organizers and Committee

  • Kathleen Ahrens, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Emmanuele Chersoni, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Chu-Ren Huang, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Huyen Nguyen Thi Minh, VNU University of Science
  • Cindy Sing Bik Ngai, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Rachel Edita O. Roxas, National University, Manila, Philippines
  • Qi Su, Peking University
  • Mingyu Wan, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Qiang Wu, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Programme Committee

  • Benjamin R Bates (Ohio)
  • Maria Bonnafous-Boucher (Novancia Business School)
  • Franklin J Boster (Michigan State)
  • Michael E Brown (CalTech)
  • Tommaso Caselli (Groningen)
  • Jason Chang (National Tsing Hua University)
  • Hsin-Hsi Chen (National Taiwan)
  • Agnes Cheng (Oklahoma State)
  • Emmanuele Chersoni (HK PolyU)
  • Chris Cieri (LDC-UPenn)
  • Cindy Sing Bik Ngai (HK PolyU)
  • Hyunyi Cho (Ohio State)
  • Jounghwa Choi (Hallym)
  • Kristel M Gallagher (Thiel College)
  • Shu-kai Hsieh (National Taiwan)
  • Yu-yin Hsu (HK PolyU)
  • Ngyun Thi Minh Hyuen (Vietnam National)
  • Chunyu Kit (CityU HK)
  • John Lee (CityU HK)
  • Jing Li (HK PolyU)
  • Pengyuan Liu (Beijing Language and Culture University)
  • Michael J Maloni (Kennesaw State)
  • Karl Neergaard (University of Macau)
  • Azadeh Nikfarjam (Apple)
  • Bo Peng (HK PolyU)
  • Brian L Quick (Illinois)
  • Beatrice Portelli (Udine)
  • Paul R Portney (Arizona)
  • Rachel Roxas (National U-Philippnes)
  • Enrico Santus (Bayer)
  • Giuseppe Serra (Udine)
  • Qi Su (Peking U)
  • Saghar I Tamaddon (UC Berkeley)
  • Piek Vossen (VU Amsterdam)
  • John A Updegraff (Kent State)
  • Rong Xiang (HK PolyU)